HNG 8: GOALS!!!

Chidiuto Okorie
2 min readAug 17, 2021

--

It was a major dilemma, deciding whether or not to register for HNG this year. “I mean, come on, man… you barely made it past Zuri (Zuri, with i4G, organized a training, like a lighter version of HNG, which partook in. See link at the end), and school hadn’t even resumed as of yet. Is this really what you want?”

However, I came to the conclusion that it was worth the shot and that I was going to give it my best. Since I was first introduced to programming, I’ve tried my hands on many different tracks; C++, Java, Html/CSS, R, Python, and most recently, Flutter. That’s a whole lot of tracks for less than 3 years of not mastering any. Shame on me.

In case you’re wondering, Flutter is a development kit used to develop cross-platform (Android and iOS) mobile apps using the Dart Language. If you’re interested, my favourite flutter tutor is Andrea (Code with Andrea, YouTube). Find the link to his channel at the end of this article.

Of all these, Flutter is the one where I’ve lasted the longest. So I decided, because of this, to take one last go at Programming and see how it goes. And I’m not just going to see how it goes. In HNG 8, I’m going to

  • Test my ability to learn on the job
  • Meet deadlines
  • Work well in a team and contribute a useful quota
  • Have a tech internship experience
  • Finally get familiar with Github and it’s space. In case you have the same issue, I could share the tutorial I started with. Find the link at the end of the article.
  • And at the end of the training, I should be sure whether or not I mean to pursue a career in tech.

Well, at this point I suppose I’ve mentioned all that is to be in this article… all except the promised links.

Code with Andrea on YouTube (Flutter) : https://youtu.be/zTvewUdNslo

Zuri Internship: https://internship.zuri.team

Github: https://youtu.be/RGOj5yH7evk

This ink belongs to Okorie Chidiuto.

Here we go!

--

--